teacher with students

Foundation Special Project Awards

The Winona State University Foundation was chartered in 1963 for the purpose of receiving, managing, and applying funds exclusively for charitable, scientific, or educational activities at Winona State University.

Each year, the Winona State University Foundation grants approximately $75,000 to special project applications pursued by faculty or staff at the University. The object of the awards is to provide financial support for projects that bring innovation and acclaim to the University. The Special Projects Committee of the WSU Foundation Board of Trustees reviews the applications twice a year and selects the winning projects. The number and amount of award(s) shall be determined based on the annual funding available and periodically reviewed by the WSU Foundation Special Projects Committee. The recipients of the awards are announced at the Foundation's spring board meeting.


Special Project Award Calendar



Presentation to Committee


Oct. 31, 2014

Nov. 18, 2014


March 19, 2015

April 2, 2015


Apply now for a Special Projects Award. If you have already received an award, fill out the Special Projects Award Final Report form (PDF).  

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the WSU Foundation office at 507.457.5020 or email Jennifer Hoffman at jhoffman@winona.edu.


Special Projects Committee

The Special Project Committee is primarily responsible for special program activities of the Foundation. This includes developing proposal guidelines for projects intended to enhance WSU's academic mission, to improve the quality of its faculty or the level of instruction and to enrich the learning experiences available to its students. The committee encourages, reviews and recommends funding for programs and projects at WSU for which there are no current funding sources available.

Dollars awarded via the Special Project Committee are initially received as unrestricted gifts. These unrestricted donations come from a variety of sources: alumni, corporations, matching gift companies and other friends of WSU. The purpose of the program is broad and designed to serve the curricular, professional and program development priorities of the institution.

Members of the Special Projects Committee include:

  • Ted Fredrickson - Chair 
  • George Bolon
  • Mike Ericson
  • Karen Fawcett
  • Chops Hancock
  • Steve Heuslein
  • Thom Kieffer 
  • Jim Meyer 
  • Tim Missling
  • Paul Morgan 
  • Dick Record
  • Phil Sonnenberg - Liaison