Faculty and Staff

Faculty Publications
Faculty Grants and Projects

Graduate Programs in Nursing Leadership 

William J. McBreen, PhD, RN William J. McBreen, PhD, RN
Dean, Professor, College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Office: Rochester - Health Science Bldg. 105; Winona - Stark 301
Phone: Rochester - 507.285.7349; Winona 507.457.5122
Email: wmcbreen@winona.edu

Martha M. Scheckel

Martha M. Scheckel, PhD, RN
Chair, Professor
Department of Nursing
Office:  Rochester - Health Science Bldg. (HS) 106; Winona - Stark 303G
Phone:  Rochester - 507.529.6144; Winona - 507.457.5127
Email:  mscheckel@winona.edu
Sonja Meier director of graduate nursing Sonja J. Meiers, PhD, RN
Director, Professor
Department of Graduate Nursing, Winona State University - Rochester
Office:  East Hall (EA) 133
Phone: 507.536.5671
Email: smeiers@winona.edu

Graduate Nursing Faculty


  Deppa, Brant, PhD
Mathematics and Statistics Department
Professor and Chair
Office: Gildemeister 311
Phone: 507.457.5457
Email: BDeppa@winona.edu

Dowat, Kimberly, PhD, APRN, CNM
Adjunct Faculty
Office:  EA 129-136
Email:  kdowat@winona.edu    

Photo - Jane Foote (Associate Professor)

Foote, Jane, EdD, MSN, RN
Associate Professor
Office:  EA 216
Phone:  507.280.2818
Email:  jfoote@winona.edu

Diane McNally Forsyth, PhD, RN, Professor

Forsyth, Diane M., PhD, RN
Office:  EA 132
Phone:  507.280.5036
Email:  dforsyth@winona.edu

  Hemmingsen, Terese, DNP, RN, CDE
Assistant Professor
Office: HS 110
Phone: 507.285.7342
Email: THemmingsen@winona.edu
Herman, Rachel E., MS, RN, CPNP Herman, Rachel E., MS, APRN, PPCNP-BC
Adjunct Faculty
Clinical Placement Coordinator
Office:  EA 139
Phone:  507.535.3978
Email:  rherman@winona.edu

Carol Jenson

Jenson, Carole E., DNP, APRN, CNS, ACNS-BC, CME, CCRN-K
Associate Professor
(Sabbatical 2015 Fall Semester)
Office:  EA 218
Phone:  507.285.7341
Email:  cjenson@winona.edu 

Annie Johnson Johnson, Andrea B., MSN, APRN, CNP, ACNP-BC, CCRN
Assistant Professor
Office:  EA 208
Phone:  507.285.7168
Email:  abjohnson@winona.edu

Johnson, Shirley, MSN, APRN, CNP
Assistant Professor
Office:  HS 027
Phone:  507.285.7136
Email:  skjohnson@winona.edu

Photo - Kim Langr Langer, Kimberly, MSN, APRN, CNP, ACNP-BC
Assistant Professor
Office:  EA 208
Phone:  507.285.7168
Email:  klanger@winona.edu
Photo - Anne Miers Miers, Anne, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, CNRN
Assistant Professor
Office:  EA 129-136
Email:  amiers@winona.edu  

  Paddock, Sandra, DNP, APRN, CNP
Associate Professor
Office: EA 117
Phone: 507.285.7208
Email: SPaddock@winona.edu
Photo - Faculty Dr. Julie Ponto Ponto, Julie A., PhD, APRN, CNS, AGCNS-BC, AOCNS®
Office:  EA 134
Phone:  507.285.7135
Email:  jponto@winona.edu

Prochnow, Jenny, MSN, MBA, RNC, PHN
Associate Professor
Office:  EA 137
Phone:  507.285.7185
Email:  jprochnow@winona.edu
Lisa Schnepper

Schnepper, Lisa L., PhD, APRN, CNP, FNP-BC
Office:  EA 220
Phone:  507.285.7478
Email:  lschnepper@winona.edu

Starling, Jami, MS, RN
Associate Professor
Office:  EA 135
Phone:  507.280.5565
Email:  jstarling@winona.edu
Mieca Valen Valen, Mieca S., DNP, APRN, CNP, FNP-BC
(Sabbatical 2015 - 2016)
Office:  EA 212
Phone:  507.282.7588
Email:  mvalen@winona.edu



Nicholls, Daniel J., RN, EdD
Professor Emeritus
MSN:  University of Texas at El Paso
MED:  Montana State University
EDD:  Montana State University

Olsen, Gayle P., MS, RN, PNP
Professor Emerita
MSN:  University of California at San Francisco
BSN:  College of St. Teresa, Winona, MN
Email:  golsen@winona.edu

Scherb, Cindy A., PhD, RN
Professor Emerita
Postdoctoral Fellowship:  University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA
PhD:  University of Iowa, Iowa City, IA
MS:  University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN 
BS:  Mount Mercy College, Cedar Rapids, IA
Email:  cscherb@winona.edu

Smith, Marjorie J., PhD, RN, CNM
Professor Emerita
PhD:  University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
MSN:  University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
BSN:  University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI

Administrative Staff

Brenda Canar
Administrative Assistant
College of Nursing and Health Sciences
Office: Winona - Stark 301
Phone: 507.457.5122
Email:  bcanar@winona.edu

Carolyn Ryno
Administrative Assistant
Graduate Programs
Office: Rochester - EA 129-136
Phone: 507.529.6117
Email:  cryno@winona.edu

Sara Bass
Office and Admin. Assistant
Graduate Programs
Office: Rochester - EA 129-136
Phone: 507.285.7473
Email:  sbass@winona.edu