Physics Faculty and Staff

Rose Coughlen

Ms. Rose Coughlen
Visiting Instructor

Office: Pasteur Hall 122
Phone: 507.457.5266
Email: RCoughlen@winona.edu
Research Interests: Dark matter, particle physics, nuclear physics, STEM outreach.
Carl Ferkinhoff
 
  Dr. Carl Ferkinhoff
Assistant Professor
Office: Pasteur 144
Phone: 507.457.5265
Email: CFerkinhoff@winona.edu
Website
Research Interests: Extra-galactic Astronomy, interferometry, astronomical instrumentation, electronics, teaching and outreach.
Andrew Ferstl
  Dr. Andrew Ferstl
Professor
Office: Pasteur Hall 146
Phone: 507.457.5863
Email: AFerstl@winona.edu
Course Website
Research Interests: Dark matter, elementary particle physics, cosmology, engineering design, teaching and learning, outreach.
Nathan Moore
  Dr. Nathan Moore
Professor
Office: Pasteur Hall 152
Phone: 507.457.5611
Email: NMoore@winona.edu
Website
Research Interests: Computational physics, FPGA and microcontroller programming and interfacing, appropriate technology, teaching and learning.
Frederick Otto
  Dr. Frederick Otto
Professor
Office: Pasteur Hall 144
Phone: 507.457.5854
Email: FOtto@winona.edu
Website
Course Website
Sarah Phan-Budd 
  Dr. Sarah Phan-Budd
Assistant Professor
Office: Pasteur Hall 150
Phone: 507.457.2234
Email: SPhanBudd@winona.edu
Website
Research Interests: Neutrino oscillation, experimental particle physics, analysis of large data sets and physics education.
Nicollet Schossow 
  Ms. Nicollet Schossow
Administrative Assistant
Office: Pasteur Hall
Phone: 507.457.5260
Email: NSchossow@winona.edu
Mr. Gary Shields
  Mr. Gary Shields
Instructor
Office: Pasteur Hall
Phone: 507.457.2257
Email: GShields@winona.edu 
Research Interests: Power generation trends including fossil fuels, nuclear, and renewable energies.
Luke Zwiefelhofer
  Mr. Luke Zwiefelhofer
Laboratory Specialist
Office: Pasteur Hall 112
Phone: 507.457.2778
Email: LZwiefelhofer@winona.edu