The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

From the NCES web site:

The Integrated Post secondary Education Data System (IPEDS), established as the core post secondary education data collection program for NCES, is a system of surveys designed to collect data from all primary providers of post secondary education. IPEDS is a single, comprehensive system designed to encompass all institutions and educational organizations whose primary purpose is to provide post secondary education. The IPEDS system is built around a series of interrelated surveys to collect institution-level data in such areas as enrollments, program completions, faculty, staff, finances, and academic libraries.
Integrated Post secondary Education Data System Homepage


The data for the following two reports, WSU Defined Peer Comparison FY 2008 and Minnesota State System Defined Peer Comparison FY 2008, are from the Integrated Post secondary Education Data System (IPEDS). IPEDS is a federal mandated system of survey components that collects institution-level data on students including (enrollment and graduation rates), student charges, program completions, faculty, staff, and finance. These two reports show comparison graphs for enrollment, admissions, tuition, financial aid, graduation rates, financial, and staffing.  Methodological notes for each graph are found on pages 8 – 10.

The WSU-defined peer comparison report includes:

  • Minnesota State University-Mankato (Mankato, MN)
  • Southern Oregon University (Ashland, OR)
  • University of Central Arkansas (Conway, AR)
  • University of Minnesota-Duluth (Duluth, MN)
  • University of No Carolina-Wilmington (Wilmington, NC)
  • University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (Eau Claire, WI)
  • University of Wisconsin-La Crosse (La Crosse, WI)
  • University of Wisconsin-River Falls (River Falls, WI)
  • University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point (Stevens Point, WI)

The Minnesota State peer group report includes:

  • Minnesota State University-Mankato (Mankato, MN)
  • Minnesota State University-Moorhead (Moorhead, MN)
  • Southwest Minnesota State University (Marshall, MN)
  • Saint Cloud State University (Saint Cloud, MN)
  • Bemidji State University (Bemidji, MN)
  • Metropolitan State University (Saint Paul, MN)