Faculty & Staff

64x64

Dr. Noah Anderson

Research Interests:
Dr. Anderson’s research focuses on the intersection of herpetology, ecology, evolution and physiology.  Research in his labs spans both field work and laboratory studies.  His current research focuses on the growth and physiological performance of Boa constrictors. 

242 Pasteur Hall
noah.anderson@winona.edu
507.457.72822

64x64

Dr. Kimberly Bates

Research Interests:
Dr. Bates’ research examines the prevalence and intensity of gastrointestinal parasites in fur-bearing mammals.  She also uses molecular techniques to determine the prevalence of Lyme disease in Ixodes ticks as well as the genetic relatedness of lungworm in different ruminants.

Pasteur 228
KBates@winona.edu
507.457.5458

64x64

Dr. Michael Delong

Research Interests:
Dr. Delong’s research addresses the ecology of rivers and the influence of environmental conditions on ecological processes. Food webs are a primary focus, but also includes community ecology of fish and invertebrates. Mississippi River is the focus but research has been done across the US and Australia. 

Pasteur 215
MDelong@winona.edu
507.457.5484

64x64

Dr. Robin DeVinney (Richardson)

Research Interests:
Research in Dr. DeVinney’s lab focuses on student curiosity.  Students have been pursuing their curiosity for 25 years, often presenting their results at spider meetings in exotic locales. Current work includes the creation of the WSU seed library, marking isopods (roley polies) to study family relationships, and battling invasive house sparrows in native bird colonies. 

Pasteur 246
RRichardson@winona.edu
Website
507.457.5128

64x64

Mary Diekmann

Administrative Assistant
Pasteur 220
MDiekmann@winona.edu
507.457.5270

64x64

Dr. Kimberly Evenson

Research Interests:
Dr. Evenson’s research integrates organismal, physiological, and molecular approaches to answer questions related to plant microbe interactions, plant tissue culture for plant breeding, and plant responses to environmental stresses.

Pasteur 219
KEvenson@winona.edu
507.457.5287

64x64

Dr. Casey Finnerty

Research Interests:
Pathobiology; entomology; structural biology; biological Computing; analysis of baculovirus-host interactions; protein structure/function relationships; molecular evolution

Pasteur 236
CFinnerty@winona.edu
507.457.5855

64x64

Dr. Mark Garbrecht

Research Interests:
Research in Dr. Garbrecht’s lab focuses on the biology and metabolism of natural and synthetic glucocorticoids, as well as the impact of maternal and offspring diet on glucose metabolism and insulin secretion. In our lab we utilize a mix of molecular, cellular, and animal model systems. 

234 Pasteur Hall
MGarbrecht@winona.edu
Website
507.457.2261

64x64

Kelly Hagberg

226 Pasteur Hall
kelly.hagberg@winona.edu
507.457.5462

64x64

Dr. Jake Hines

Research Interests:
Dr. Jake Hines’ research group examines how neurons and glia interact to form a functional nervous system. Specifically, the group seeks to discover biological mechanisms and fill the need for therapies for patients with Multiple Sclerosis & nerve injuries. Students observe neurons and glia in live, optically transparent zebrafish embryos by confocal microscopy. This approach is combined with genetic & pharmacologic manipulations in order to discover novel mechanisms on neural development & regenerations. 

Pasteur 217
JHHines@winona.edu
Website
507.457.5279

64x64

Dr. Peter Knopick

Director of MLS Program

Research Interests:
Dr. Peter Knopick is the Medical Laboratory Science program director. He teaches the clinical science courses for MLS majors and Microbiology 209. His research background involved using murine models to study immune responses towards cancer. Specifically, he continues to investigate augmenting T cell responses in solid tumors. His teaching approach uses examples from both clinical and research experiences to help prepare students for careers in healthcare.  

224 Pasteur Hall 
peter.knopick@winona.edu
507.457.5271

64x64

Dr. Betsy Larson

Research Interests:
Dr. Larson’s teaching interests include preparing Secondary Life Science Teachers through inquiry lab experiences, service learning and supportive advisor-advisee relationships. She enjoys working with students out-of-doors and in the lab, engaging them with evidence-based teaching strategies that help form analytical, highly-qualified biology teachers.



Pasteur 238
ELarson@winona.edu
507.457.2494

64x64

Dr. Osvaldo Martinez

Research Interests:
Research in Dr. Martinez’s lab focuses on studying host-pathogen interactions, specifically how Ebola and West Nile virus infect and deregulate human immune cells. The lab is also developing a novel virus-like particle vaccine. Furthermore, the lab is identifying new bacteria-killing phages and investigating their potential as therapeutics.

Pasteur 248
OMartinez@winona.edu
Website
507.457.5277

64x64

Dr. Neal Mundahl

Research Interests:
Dr. Mundahl’s research centers on applied population and community ecology of fish, birds, and plants in regional streams, lakes, forests, and prairies.  His work seeks to explain the impacts of human activities on the structure and function of natural systems.

Pasteur 250
NMundahl@winona.edu
Website
507.457.5695

64x64

Kay Pedretti

Laboratory Specialist
Pasteur 204
KPedretti@winona.edu
507.457.5288

64x64

Dr. Amy Runck

Department Chair

Research Interests:
Dr. Runck’s research combines field biology and molecular techniques in order to understand adaptations to changing environments.  Current research projects include gene expression in tiger salamanders (Ambystoma tigrinum) and post-glacial speciation in red-backed voles (Myodes sp.).

Pasteur 230
ARunck@winona.edu
507.457.5272

64x64

Dr. Scott Segal

Research Interests:
Research in Dr. Segal’s lab focuses on control of gene expression in response to physiological stresses, including glucose deprivation, and exposure to genotoxic agents.  One such agent is Cr(VI), which is a common industrial byproduct and strong carcinogen.  Upon exposure mRNA becomes translationally repressed, and can localize to P-bodies or Stress granules.  My lab uses cytological, genetic, molecular and biochemical approaches in both yeast and mammalian systems to study these phenomena.

Pasteur 240
SSegal@winona.edu
507.457.2594

64x64

Erika Vail

Laboratory Specialist
Science Lab Center 277
EVail@winona.edu
507.457.2632

64x64

Dr. Ted Wilson

Research Interests:
Dr. Ted Wilson studies whether food health claims can be supported by measurable physiological changes.  He studies pistachios, walnuts, low-carbohydrate diets, cranberries, cranberry juice, grape juice, creatine phosphate, eggplants, coffee, tea, energy drinks, and saber-toothed cats.  He also investigates the physiological processes related to hypothermia, diabetes, obesity, and heart failure. He enjoys coffee, family, hunting, fishing, logging, and farming.

Pasteur 232
TWilson@winona.edu
Website
507.457.2485