Student displaying project

Communication Studies Scholarships

These are a few scholarships specifically for students majoring in communication studies. Learn about the many other scholarship opportunities for WSU students.  

Gary's Philosophy on Leadership

"Community betterment is something to which everyone should aspire. It clearly drives me."

Who is Gary Evans?

He is an alumnus of the Communication Studies program at WSU and continues to be one of Winona State's greatest supporters and fans! You might recognize him as the President and CEO of HBC in Winona; he also serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors for Winona Health.

Who qualifies for the Gary Evans scholarship?

Normally, we will award one to two scholarships of approximately $400 each to one or two full-time CMST majors who demonstrate 1) academic good standing (minimum 3.0 GPA), 2) personal and professional accomplishments, leadership ability, or service through involvement in WSU or community organizations or activities; 3) ability and promise in the field of communication studies.

To be considered as a Gary Evans Scholarship candidate, please submit a letter of application and appropriate supporting materials to demonstrate how you meet the three scholarship criteria.

Can it be awarded more than once to the same person?

The scholarship is not renewable.

Who decides the recipients?

Scholarships are awarded by a committee of CMST faculty.

When can I apply?

To apply for this scholarship, visit the Foundation Scholarships website.

The Frederick & Dina Derocher Communication Studies Mentorship Scholarship in Honor of Professor Rita Rahoi-Gilchrest is an award of $500.


  • Undergraduate junior or senior (during the next academic year) taking 12 or more credits
  • 3.0 or greater GPA
  • Communication Studies major
  • Demonstrate financial need
  • Submit an essay (details online)

To apply for this scholarship, visit the WSU Foundation Scholarships website.