College of Education Departments & Centers

Learn more about the College of Education Centers (PDF).

Business Education Button

Director: Dana Brigson
507.457.5197
DBrigson@winona.edu

The Business Education program offers various learning opportunities such as online and face-to-face courses in order to better help students with busy schedules.

Child Advocacy Studies Button
Director: Jodi Saunders

507.457.2870
JSaunders@winona.edu

The Child Advocacy Studies program can provide a career in many fields including social services, healthcare, education and criminal justice.

Counselor Education Button
Department Chair: Mary Fawcett
507.457.5335
MFawcett@winona.edu

The Counselor Education program offers evening and weekend classes in addition to online, hybrid and face-to-face classes. The program will prepare you for a career in the field of counseling.

Early Childhood and Elementary Education Button
Department Chair: Penny Warner

507.457.5350
PWarner@winona.edu

Early Childhood and Elementary Education prepares students for teaching in today's society. A Reading Instruction minor is also available.

Education Studies Button
Department Co-chairs: Jerry Redman & Rhea Walker

507.457.5337 or 507.457.5353
JRedman@winona.edu or RWalker@winona.edu

Education Studies contains both Business Education and Foundations of Education.

Leadership Education Button
Department Chair: Theresa Waterbury

507.457.5607
TWaterbury@winona.edu

Leadership Education strives to prepare students for school and organization management in ways that help each individual learner.

Physical Education & Sport Science Button
Department Chair: Chad Grabau

507.457.2316
CGrabau@winona.edu

The Physical Education and Sport Science program offers preparation for careers in physical education (teaching), coaching, sports administration and many others.

Rochester Education Button
Department Chair: Wendy Shannon

507.328.4366
WSShannon@winona.edu

The Rochester Education program includes Rochester Elementary Education, Austin Elementary Education, Teacher Preparation Collaborative and Graduate Induction Program. Programs are offered in both Rochester and Austin.

Special Education Button
Department Chair: Jeanne Danneker

JeDanneker@winona.edu

Special Education prepares students for working with students who have various disabilities including developmental and behavioral.

Center for Clinical Practice Button
Director: Jane Morken

507.457.5357
JMorken@winona.edu

The Center for Clinical Practice connects Teach21 faculty and staff.

Center for Collaboration, Partnership and Professional Development ButtonDirector: Dawnette Cigrand
507.457.5335
DCigrand@winona.edu

The Center for Collaboration, Partnerships and Professional Development exists to assist in communication between the College of Education and B-12 organizations so that together they can create beneficial educational opportunities for everyone.

Center for Assessment and Accreditation Button
Director: Jerry Redman

507.457.5337
JRedman@winona.edu

The Center for Assessment and Accreditation deals with data collection, analysis, reporting and more. The Center ensures that the College of Education continues to meet all Minnesota Board of Teaching requirements.

Center for Teacher Success Button
Director: Paula O'Malley

507.457.2358
POMalley@winona.edu

The Center for Teacher Success keeps all teachers up-to-date on policies, practices, procedures and all that goes along with them in order to keep recruitment and admission up to standards.

OERC Button
Director: Eric Barnard

507.457.2940
EBarnard@winona.edu

The OERC offers various exciting events and opportunities to get outside and explore.

University Children's Center Button
Director: June Reineke

JMReineke@winona.edu

The Children's Center provides education and care for children between the ages of six weeks and fourth grade.