Student Achievements

Awards for 2015-2016:

The following English Department students received awards for 2015-2016:
English Department Distinguished Student Award:
Olivia Stoltman
The Distinguished Student is selected by faculty vote to honor the graduating senior who has distinguished himself/herself throughout his/her academic program and has shown the most promise as a student of English.
Outstanding Students (University Honors Recognition--Spring Semester):
CALT: Olivia Stoltman
English Writing: Leah Perri
Literature & Language: Kaysey Price
Each semester, the department members select the outstanding student in each of the two licensure programs and the other English programs combined.  These students are honored at the Evening of Distinction ceremony during the week of graduation.
Ann and James Nichols Scholarly Paper Award: 
Katie McCoy
Honorable Mention: Kim Schneider
Outstanding scholarly papers are submitted each year to a department subcommittee that then selects the best scholarly papers for this award.
Sandra Adickes Outstanding Freshman Essay: 
Research: Sydney Bockelman
Non-research: Chloe Ericson
All students enrolled in ENG 111 (College Reading and Writing) and ENG 112 (Research Writing) are eligible to have their essays reviewed by a department subcommittee, which selects the most outstanding essays in the categories of research and non-research.
Outstanding Portfolio:
Timmy Turner (Fall, 2015)
Maire Helkenn (Spring, 2016)
Kimberly Schneider (Spring, 2016)
Autumn Beireis (Honorable Mention, Spring, 2016)
All English majors are required to compile and submit a portfolio of their academic work during the semester that they graduate.  Department members review the portfolios and select the most outstanding ones for this award.

Satori Editors:
Ana Alexander
Autumn Beireis
Kaysey Price
Student editors of the Satori literary magazine provide leadership for selection of entries, editing, layout, and publication of the magazine.

Director for Life and Work of the Scholar Graduate Symposium:
Madeline Kiley

Scholarships for 2015-2016:

The following students were awarded English Department scholarships for 2015-16:
James W. & Ann Eljenholm Nichols Scholarship:
Kaitlyn McCoy
Tara Woessner
Marion J. Deeren Scholarship:
Christy Aleckson
Abigail Berning
Augusta Nelson Memorial Scholarship:
Colin Kohrs
Darlene Radsek Scholarship:
Alicia Dodge
Sylvia Bremer Memorial Scholarship:
Sophie Blair Johnson
Leslie & Gladys (Sanford) King Scholarship:
Rene Stiller
Cornwell Family Scholarship:
Megan Wefel

Thomas Leuchtenberg English Scholarship:
Lynnea Waydula

Alma Smith Scholarship in Honor of Miss Gertrude Finch and Dr. Augusta Nelson:
Alicia Dodge