The Winonan


The Winonan is Winona State University’s student-run newspaper, serving since 1919. It's a weekly publication, with new issues available Wednesday mornings at the entrance of many campus buildings.

The Winonan also maintains an online edition that's updated on Wednesday mornings.

What The Winonan Is All About


The mission of The Winonan is to inform and empower the campus and community of Winona State University.

  • Inform: To report the news and events that affect our campus and the Winona community.
  • Empower: To provide our students with a unique, creative outlet, and the opportunity to learn and improve their journalism skills while gaining an understanding of a newspaper operation.

Advertise in The Winonan


Want to advertise in The Winonan's weekly editions in either the physical copies distributed on WSU's campus or on The Winonan website?

Contact Elizabeth Mettin, The Winonan's Business Manager, at elizabeth.mettin@go.winona.edu and the newspaper's official email at winonan@winona.edu.

Learn more about our advertising options and prices.

The Winonan office is located in Room 120 in the Student Activities Center in Kryzsko Commons.

Contact the editing staff if you have questions, letters to the editor, advertising inquiries, or are interested in applying for a paid reporter or photographer position.


Staff
McKenna Scherer
Editor-in-Chief
she/her
mckenna.scherer@go.winona.edu
Sophia Sailer
News Editor
she/her
sophia.sailer@go.winona.edu
Gabriel Hathaway
Features Editor
he/him
gabriel.hathaway@go.winona.edu
Syerah Mulher-Allred
Sports Editor
she/her
syerah.mulhern-allred@go.winona.edu
Mohammed Islam
Photo Editor
he/him
mohammed.islam@go.winona.edu