Important Dates

Here are some important dates to keep in mind so you can manage your semester successfully. However, this is not a complete list, and for the most accurate and comprehensive list of important dates and holiday breaks, please view the Academic Calendars.

Tues-Sun, Aug 18-23 New Student Orientation Week for New Incoming Students
Mon, Aug 24
Fall Semester Begins
Fri, Aug 28
Last day to add classes on the web
Fri, Aug 28
Last day to drop courses with 100% Tuition Refund
Fri, Aug 28
Fall 2015 tuition due or have arrangements to pay tuition to avoid
cancellation of classes. Note: Valid payment options at
Fri, Aug 28
Part-Time Job Fair - East Hall Kryzsko, 11:00 am - 2 pm
Thurs, Sep 3
Last day to submit Class Registration Permit Forms (Blue Cards)
Fri, Sep 4
Financial Aid Disbursement
Mon, Sep 7
Labor Day Holiday (no classes/offices closed)
Fri-Sun, Sep 18-20
Family Weekend
Sat-Sat, Sep 19-26
Thurs, Oct 8
Career Expo  Note: for Juniors and Seniors & upper level students, McCown Gymnasium 10 am - 2 pm
Tues, Oct 13
University Improvement Day (classes meeting before 3:30pm. are cancelled / labs and classes meeting once per week meet as scheduled/campus offices open).
Fri, Oct 16
Fri, Oct 16
Last day to clear Incompletes (I) from Spring & Summer 2015 courses
Fri, Oct 16
Last Day to submit an Application for Graduation for Fall 2015 Commencement and appear in the printed commencement program
Fri, Oct 23
MN Government & Nonprofit Career Fair - 10:30 am - 3 pm Great Hall, Coffman Memorial Union at the
University of Minnesota.  For more information contact WSU Career Services at
Wed, Oct 28
Major Fair - Learn about WSU Majors, East Hall Kryzsko, 10:30 am - 1:30 pm
Tues, Nov 3
*General Election Day
Wed, Nov 3
Advising period for Spring semester begins
Wed, Nov 11
Veterans' Day Holiday (no classes/offices closed)
Mon, Nov 16
Registration for Spring semester begins
Thurs, Nov 19
Last day for students to change the grade method for an eligible Fall 2015 course(s) 
Thurs, Nov 19
Last day to withdraw from Fall 2015 course(s)
Wed-Sun, Nov 25-29
Thanksgiving Holiday (no classes / offices closed Thursday and Friday)
M-Th, Dec 7-10
Final Examinations
Fri, Dec 11
Fall 2015 Commencement
Mon, Jan 11, 2016
Spring semester begins

 *Excerpt:  204C.03 Public meetings prohibited on election day.  Subd. 2. State colleges and universities. Except for regularly scheduled classes, no Minnesota state college or university shall schedule an event between 6 pm and 8 pm on the day that an election is held in any political subdivision in which the college or university is located.  Copyright 2005 by the Office of Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota.