WSU Foundation Staff & Trustees

The WSU Foundation exists to raise funds, steward them for good, and distribute them in ways that collaboratively support the mission of Winona State University. 

The WSU Foundation is the number one source of external support for the University.

Advancement Staff

The Advancement staff includes professionals in fundraising, advancement services and alumni relations. Together, this team works to build relationships with donors and alumni to grow the WSU community. 

Jon Olson
Vice President of University Advancement


Email Jon Olson


Jeff Bartholomew
Director of Development


Email Jeff Bartholomew
Paul Brunsdon
Director of Development


Email Paul Brunsdon
Robbie Christiano
Director of Development


Email Robbie Christiano
Nikki Herold
Director of Development


Email Nikki Herold
Jen Jonsgaard
Foundation Scholarship Coordinator


Email Jen Jonsgaard
Jovita Light
Assistant to the Directors of Development, Cal Fremling Boat Manager


Email Jovita Light
Jessica Rossignol
Associate Director of Annual Giving


Email Jessica Rossignol
Phil Sonnenberg
Director of University Advancement Finance, WSU Foundation Controller


Email Phil Sonnenberg

Advancement Services

Jill Bradley
Systems Administrator


Email Jill Bradley
Beth Halleck
Gift Administrator


Email Beth Halleck

Alumni Engagement

Machelle Carney
Alumni Engagement Office Assistant


Email Machelle Carney
Tracy Hale
Director of Alumni Engagement


Email Tracy Hale
Foundation Board of Trustees

The WSU Foundation is comprised of Trustees, representing a variety of occupational and economic backgrounds, who provide general counsel and financial support to enhance higher education at WSU. 

A Foundation Trustee is part of the WSU Advancement team. Their experience, judgment and special expertise strengthens WSU and our services to students and the community.

Foundation Board Portal

WSU Foundation Board Leadership

Tom Wynn
Chair, Retired President/CEO | Peerless Chain

Winona, MN

Diane Amundson
Chair Elect, CEO | Thriving Workplace with Diane Amundson

Winona, MN

Bob Strauss '76
Immediate Past Chair, WSU Foundation Executive Director, Retired Vice President of Business Development | Fastenal Company

Bonita Springs, FL

John McShea ’79
Treasurer, Partner | TecCXO

Chicago, IL

Foundation Trustees

Howard Bicker ’70
Retired, Executive Director | Minnesota State Board of Investments

St. Paul, MN

George Bolon
Professor Emeritus | WSU

Winona, MN

Bob Brewer ’77
Managing Member | Eagle Ridge Advisors, LLC

Wake Forest, NC

Bonnie Clipper ‘87
Vice President of Nursing Practice and Innovation | American Nurses Association

Austin, TX

Scott Ellinghuysen '89
Vice President of Finance | WSU

Winona, MN

Reggie Johnson '85
Pharmaceutical/Medical Sales

Auburndale, FL

Scott Johnson ’82
Attorney | Robins Kaplan LLP

Bloomington, MN

Tim Missling ’87
Wealth Management | The Private Bank of Wells Fargo

Burnsville, MN

Ken Mogren ’70
Retired President | Winona Agency

Winona, MN

Dan Mortensen '79
Executive Director | Virginia Council on Economic Education

Richmond, VA

Mark Nichols '78
Retired Senior Vice President Financial Advisor | USB Financial Service, Inc.

Lake City, MN

Scott Opfer ’84
President | Opfer Communications, Inc.

Springfield, MO

Rill Reuter
Professor Emerita | WSU

Winona, MN

David Rubenstein ’86
President and CEO | California Ethanol & Power, LLC

Manhattan Beach, CA

Michael Russell ’84
Surety Marketing Manager, Federated Insurance Director | Granite Re

Scottsdale, AZ

Rachel Schromen '10
Owner and Managing Partner | Schromen Law, LLC

Saint Paul, MN

Kris Wenker
Retired Vice President of Investor Relations | General Mills

Maple Grove, MN

Jim Zuhlke '76
Founder | Cardinal Mark

Wayzata, MN